Our projects

PEReN is an agile organisation and its activities are organised in projects. The 2021 work program was built from the exchanges with the different partner administrations and PEReN is expecting to work on around twenty projects this year. This number will increase as new requests are submitted by partner administrations.

Most of the projects on which PEReN is working are partly or completely confidential and therefore cannot be detailed. Here is a selection of a few projects in which PEReN is currently involved.

A few projects

Construction of an API to smooth the implementation of the ELAN law

Due to the French ELAN law, tourist accommodation rental platforms are bound to share location-related information with municipalities. PEReN has developed a web interface so that collecting and processing this data becomes simpler for all stakeholders. For example, it allows municipalities to easily check whether a main residence is rented for more than 120 days a year. The API of this project is currently being tested in a few cities, with the cooperation of several rental platforms.

API ELAN project illustration

Monitoring the evolution of General Terms and Conditions of Use

PEReN is providing assistance in the development of a tool to monitor the evolution of General Terms and Conditions of Use. Indeed, minor changes sometimes occur without users being notified in the process. In particular, PEReN has extended the scope of the tool to other websites and applications stores, and made it possible to retrieve data in more complex formats. The tool has now been put online by the MEAE (Ministry of Foreign Affairs).

CGUs monitoring project illustration

Studies on viral contents

Viral contents are at the heart of news sharing on social networks, and some are engineered to spread fake news, which in turn threaten democratic ecosystems. In this study, PEReN, at the request of the DGMIC (Media and Cultural industries directorate) and the CSA (Independent media and broadcasting regulator), is evaluating new tools to detect viral content on social networks, based on the metadata of the messages and their propagation patterns rather than on their contents or the identity of the users. This proof of concept aims at avoiding or minimizing personal data processing and providing an alternative to complex analyses.

Studies on viral content illustration

Application test bench

PEReN is developing an experimental tool to automate analyses on services that only present their information through their smartphone apps. A practical use of the tool could be, for example, to enable analyses on Over The Top (OTT) messaging applications, such as instant messaging applications, whose use has sharply increased in recent years, without many studies being conducted on the quality and availability of these services.

Minimisation of data obtained through portability

Under the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation), users of a digital platform can request a copy of their personal data. PEReN, in cooperation with the CNIL (French personal data protection authority), is developing a tool to anonymise and process this data, so that an administration can, in the future, retrieve insightful information on an economic sector from data voluntarily shared by users, without accessing their personal data.

Data portability project illustration

Black-box auditing of algorithms

Algorithms are at the core of platform models, be it for web searches, recommendations, pricing or product classification. Yet, the way these algorithms actually work often remains blurred at best, without the possibility of correctly analysing them and the parameters actually taken into account in their computing.

PEReN is working on an innovative way of developing and implementing an auditing method known as black-box auditing, based on statistical analysis of inputs and outputs to infer critical operating principles of an algorithm. The objective of this project is to determine whether this approach provides precise enough results to avoid the processing costs for regulators and platforms that incur by accessing and analysing the source code.

The methodological framework to assess the relevance of these auditing tools is being developed in collaboration with Inria (National Institute for Research in Digital Science and Technology) and its REGALIA pole, and is designed to foster partnerships with major digital platforms.

End of third-party cookies

Several digital platforms have announced the end of third-party cookies and their replacement by a new system to provide online targeted advertising. PEReN is leading a working group of various public authorities and government bodies that is undertaking a technical analysis of these new methods, to provide each member with a technical analysis and a better understanding of the impact of this major change on the advertising ecosystem. The various public authorities contributing to the project will then be able to use these technical analyses to assess independently - each in their own field of expertise or jurisdiction - the consequences of the announced end of third-party cookies.

End of third-party project illustration

Les projets du PEReN

Depuis sa création, le PEReN organise son activité en projets, avec un fonctionnement agile. Son programme de travail a été construit à partir des échanges avec ses partenaires : ainsi, le PEReN prévoit d’apporter son expertise sur une vingtaine de projets en 2021. Ce nombre sera amené à augmenter au fur et à mesure que les administrations partenaires feront de nouvelles demandes.

La plupart des projets dans lesquels le PEReN travaille sont de nature confidentielle et ne peuvent donc pas être détaillés. Voici néanmoins une sélection de quelques projets dans lesquels le pôle est pleinement investi.

QUELQUES EXEMPLES DE PROJETS

Construction d’une API pour faciliter la mise en place de la loi ELAN

La loi ELAN impose aux plateformes de location de meublés touristiques de communiquer certaines informations aux communes. Afin de faciliter la collecte et le traitement de ces données, le PEReN développe une interface web pour la DGE qui permet par exemple aux communes de vérifier facilement si une résidence principale est louée plus de 120 jours par an. L’API de ce projet est actuellement en expérimentation dans quelques villes, avec la coopération de plusieurs plateformes de location.

Illustration du projet API ELAN

Outil de suivi des Conditions Générales d’Utilisation

Le PEReN a apporté son assistance dans le développement d’un outil permettant de suivre l’évolution des Conditions Générales d’Utilisation. En effet, certains changements mineurs peuvent intervenir sans qu’il n’y ait de notification pour les utilisateurs. Le PEReN a notamment élargi la portée de l’outil à d’autres sites et permis de récupérer les données dans des formats plus complexes. Cet outil a été mis en ligne par le Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires Etrangères (MEAE).

Illustration du projet de suivi des CGUs

Etudes sur la viralité des contenus

Les contenus viraux sont au cœur de l’actualité et pour certains contribuent à la diffusion d’infox, nuisant par là au bon fonctionnement de l’écosystème démocratique. Dans le cadre de cette étude, le PEReN, à la demande de la Direction Générale des Médias et de l’Industrie Culturelle (DGMIC) et du Conseil Supérieur de l’Audiovisuel (CSA), évalue des nouveaux outils de détection de contenus viraux sur les réseaux sociaux, qui reposent sur les métadonnées des messages et leurs graphes de diffusion plutôt que sur le contenu en lui-même, afin d’éviter les analyses trop lourdes.

Illustration du projet d'études sur la viralité

Banc de test applicatif

Le PEReN développe un dispositif expérimental permettant d’automatiser les analyses pour les services qui ne présentent leurs informations qu’au travers de leurs applications sur smartphone. Une application pratique de l’outil pourrait être par exemple de permettre des analyses sur les applications de messagerie Over The Top (OTT, comme les applications de messagerie instantanée), dont l’utilisation s’est fortement accrue ces dernières années sans que beaucoup d’études n’aient été effectuées sur la qualité et la disponibilité de ces services.

Minimisation des données obtenues par portabilité

Au titre du RGPD, les utilisateurs d’une plateforme numérique peuvent obtenir leurs données personnelles. Le PEReN, en coopération avec la CNIL, développe un outil de visualisation et de pseudonymisation de ces données pour qu’une administration puisse, à terme, récupérer des informations sur un secteur à partir des données volontairement partagées par des utilisateurs, dans le respect du RGPD.

Illustration du projet de portabilité des données

Audit des algorithmes en transparence faible

Les algorithmes sont au cœur du modèle des plateformes pour ce qui relève des recherches, des recommandations, des tarifications ou des classements de produits. Le fonctionnement de ces algorithmes reste souvent opaque, sans possibilité d’analyser finement leur usage et les paramètres effectivement pris en compte dans leur fonctionnement.

Le PEReN travaille sur une méthode novatrice d’audit dite en transparence « faible », qui repose sur l’analyse statistique de traces pour inférer des principes de fonctionnement des algorithmes. L’objectif est de déterminer si cette approche permet d’obtenir des résultats assez précis pour éviter les coûts de traitements induits par l’accès au code source pour les régulateurs et les plateformes.

Le socle méthodologique permettant d’évaluer la pertinence de ces outils d’audits est développé en collaboration avec Inria et son pôle REGALIA et a vocation à faire l’objet de partenariats avec les grandes plateformes du numérique.

Disparition des cookies

Plusieurs plateformes numériques ont annoncé la disparition des cookies tiers et leur remplacement par un nouveau système régissant le marché de la publicité en ligne. Le PEReN anime un groupe de travail qui procède à une analyse technique de ces nouvelles méthodes, afin de fournir à tous une compréhension plus complète de l’impact de ce changement majeur sur l’écosystème de la publicité. Ainsi, les services de l’Etat qui y contribuent disposeront des connaissances techniques nécessaires pour apprécier les conséquences dans leurs champ de compétences respectifs.

Illustration du projet disparition des cookies